A car accident can happen at any moment. When it happens, it can be one of the most devastating experiences of your life. According to the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), a car crash is reported about every minute. This is according to the department’s 2018 statistical data. The data also shows that about 250,000 people were injured through traffic accidents in 2018 alone. Although most of the accidents were minor, some are severe and can lead to life long disability or fatality.
Should I File a Police Report?
You should file a police report as soon as possible, regardless of who was at fault. There are several reasons for filing a police report immediately. First, the report is the only official document that will prove that the accident occurred. This report will help you document the date, time, and location, or any other relevant details of the accident. It also provides an opportunity to describe how the accident occurred and draw your depiction of the crash.
These details will come in handy when you are seeking for compensation. The report also informs the police about the accident – they will arrive on the scene, collect any pieces of evidence, and witness statements. The police will also summon medical assistance and help get your car to a safe location.
When to File a Police Report
The ideal time to file your report is during the accident. Call the police while you are still in your car. Do not exit or move it until the police arrive at the scene. However, you should note that police only respond to serious accidents. If the accident is minor, you may get instructed on how to file a report later.
The sooner you file your case, the easier it is for you to prove that the accident occurred. You should keep in mind the fact that the other driver might deny responsibility for your injuries and car damages. You are therefore advised to file your report as soon as possible to increase your chances of being compensated.
Florida Law Requires Crash Reporting
Florida law outlines the conditions under which you can report an accident. You should only file a report where the resulting damages are over $500, or if a person is injured. Moreover, the report should be filed within 10 days of the accident. Failure to report a serious accident could result in penalties and/or jail time. The best thing to do is to call the police and inform the other driver. You should provide your driver’s license, insurance, and registration documents where necessary. Seek medical treatment if you’ve been injured and keep the medical reports and bills safely, as this may act as evidence in court.
Thereafter, contact an experienced accident attorney to help in filing your case. Your lawyers will help you with the rest of the process and ensure that you get the rightful compensation for your injuries.