Experience and personal attention make a difference in your legal representation
Felonies and misdemeanors are serious crimes for which you can go to state prison or county jail. When you are arrested, you need an attorney who is capable of defending you in court as well as negotiating a reduction in charges. Payas, Payas & Payas, LLP has practiced criminal defense in central Florida for more than 35 years. As a family of lawyers, we’re sensitive to your concerns, especially how your arrest might affect your own family. You can trust our firm to work diligently on your behalf and to provide the emotional support you need to cope with the legal process.
Experienced counsel for defense against serious charges
Payas, Payas & Payas, LLP has experience in cases of severe felonies and violent crime in Orlando, including:
Orlando Criminal Attorneys Defend You Against Felony and Misdemeanor Charges
Let Our Family Serve Your Family
How Florida classifies violations of the law
Florida has three major classifications for violations of the law:
- Noncriminal violation — Offense punishable only by a fine or civil forfeiture
- Misdemeanor — Criminal offense punishable by fines and imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year
- Felony — Criminal offense punishable by incarceration in state prison for at least one year
Felonies have five categories, with different ranges of punishment. They are:
- Capital felony — Crime punishable by death. Convicted person shall be executed or imprisoned for life without possibility of parole.
- Life felony — Crime punishable by life in prison. Depending on the date of the offense, a convicted person may be eligible for life parole after 25 to 30 years.
- Felony of the first degree — Crime punishable by a term of imprisonment not to exceed 30 years
- Felony of the second degree — Crime punishable by a term of imprisonment not to exceed 15 years
- Felony of the third degree — Crime punishable by a term of imprisonment not to exceed five years
For each of these felonies, a prison releasee who reoffends must receive the maximum sentence.
Florida has two categories of misdemeanors:
- Misdemeanor of the first degree — Crime punishable by a term of imprisonment not to exceed one year
- Misdemeanor of the second degree — Crime punishable by a term of imprisonment not to exceed 60 days